Tiredness in Pre-Conscious Beings

Discussion of Julian Jaynes's first hypothesis - that consciousness (as he carefully defines it) is based on language, and related topics.
martinem

Tiredness in Pre-Conscious Beings

Post by martinem »

What is it that Jaynes said about tiredness? That the pyramids could be built because the builders were fatigue-free like catatonic schizophrenics? Is there a division to be made between the direct affect of tiredness and the more complex self-reflective feeling of injustice or meaninglessness?

I see animals, small kids, and people in ecstasy, they don't get tired, they move until they drop. And I see myself, almost always tired. Does that mean that I have a very high degree of consciousness? ;-)
Star

Re: Tiredness in Pre-Conscious Beings

Post by Star »

martinem,

You might want to check out this thread:
http://www.julianjaynes.org/forum3/view ... ?f=2&t=501

I wondered myself if consciousness uses a lot of the "RAM" in our brains, so to speak.
martinem

Re: Tiredness in pre-conscious beings

Post by martinem »

Thanks Star, it is interesting wether the brain uses more energy while performing conscious decisionmaking, but I wouldn't expect this effect to be huge. After all the amount of brain tissue is the same. Neuronal signalling leaks intracellular potassium which would burdon the ion pump, wasting ATP and glucose, but not all signals are positive. Some signals are inhibitory. Bicamerals, extatics, catatonics or other less conscious also have brain activity which would also consume energy. Naturally you can get exhausted after intellectual feats but I wanted to discuss if there was a more fundamental difference in the experience of meaninglessness, loss of purpose, sense of injustice, or whatever makes you and me rethinking why we should bother completing some useless task such as finishing some stupid pyramid...