Parallel (Dual) Consciousness Episode

Discussion of Julian Jaynes's first hypothesis - that consciousness (as he carefully defines it) is based on language, and related topics.
Landgrant Empiricist

Parallel (Dual) Consciousness Episode

Post by Landgrant Empiricist »

I am a PhD-trained cognitive psychologist, 15 years post dissertation. I have also been diagnosed with type II bipolar disorder and am living quite well with very effective medication.

Many years ago I had an experience related to a major depressive episode which may bear on the Jaynesian discussion of consciousness.

The episode had been going on for several days characterized primarily by absence of feelings, anhedonia, fatigue, and insomnia. I sat by a window staring out at the garden while my husband left for work. I was watching the tall impatiens blowing in the breeze and the coral-colored blooms and green foliage blurred into a kaleidoscopic wheel turning against the gold backdrop of the fence.

In what seemed like minutes my husband returned from work. I was aware that he had come in. I was aware that he was talking to me, but I kept staring out the window. His voice sounded like the voice they use in the "Peanuts" cartoons for adults: "Wa, wa wa wawa wa wa wa?" I could feel the hand on my shoulder. I knew he was fixing dinner.

I knew he was leading me to a chair at the dining room table. I was staring down at another beautiful scene before me. A deep orange-red with white-yellow rings, tinged with blue expanding in concentric circles. More "Wa-wawa wa" talk. Then there was a second voice, still "wa-wa-wawa", but then, I realized, I was talking, the second voice was mine.